To Love Or Not To Love

Posted: 02/04/2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Really. Does the title even have to be said or asked? Unfortunately, I think it does. All too often we see images in movies, videos, or those who think that they are saying what they are supposed to be saying. At least in their eyes. For instance look at this picture. The message is quite obvious. There is no way to misconstrue what is being said.

Now my question is this, if God hates fags, then what did He come here for? Why did He live like us and die? If God hates certain groups or certain people, then would that not make what He did useless? Now I don’t know what Bible the church who pickets with signs like these are using, but I think that there are a few verses that have been taken out of them.

For instance the Bible I use says this:

1 John 4:16 And we know and have believed the love which God hath in us. God is love; and he that abideth in love abideth in God, and God abideth in him.

Is this missing in some Bibles? If so this needs to pointed out so the publishers can get it fixed. Because if God is love and a God of love then where is the hate coming from? Is it any wonder that people want nothing to do with the church, God or Jesus Christ? Is it any wonder that we are looked down upon or seen as a joke?

God is a God of love. He proved it. “But God commendeth his own love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:8) I don’t recall John 3:16 saying “For God so loved certain people, that He gave His only begotten Son. That only these people who believeth on Him shall not perish, but have everlasting life.” Did or would God really only talk about certain people? I don’t think so. I recall the verse saying something completely different. Something along the lines of: “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son. That whosoever believeth on Him shall not perish, but have everlasting life.”

The word “world” means just that, world. It means the whole of planet earth. Everyone. No one is excluded. Everyone has the same chance as the person next to them. But they have to choose. God doesn’t. Does He want people go to hell? No! Does He force people to go to hell? No! That is our choice and no one else’s.

But for some reason there are those that think He does. There are those that think there is no reason for an army. (Soldiers are going to hell as well. At least to some people.) We can’t draw people to Christ if we are pushing them away. If we push them away or treat them with contempt or even worst, hate, how are we drawing them to Christ. We can’t claim to hate certain and then claim to love God. It doesn’t work out that way. God says that the person who does this is a liar.

I work for Teen Challenge. I deal with people that have gone to church. I deal with people who probably wouldn’t set foot in church any other way. Most of the time it is just plain bad choices that ultimately cause them to cross paths with me. Other times I believe it is because of a bad incident with someone at church that ultimately brings into my “orbit”. I believe that the reason many people don’t go to church is because of the hatred felt towards them.

After Thursday night Bible Study at the church I go to, some of the people went out to fellowship and get something to eat. Towards the end of their time there, the waitress said that she did not know they were Christians. Why? Most of the Christians that she had as customers were hateful. This was one of the few times I am sure that she had met some truly great Christians.

Ghandi could have been truly great as a Christian. But why wasn’t he? He read the Bible, quoted from the Sermon on the Mount. It was because a church elder would not let him in church the one time that he wanted to go in. The church elder was hateful to Ghandi and he never tried to go to church again. It is also telling when he says “you Christians are so unlike your Christ”. You can read this story at John Mark Ministries.

We need to quit hating people or groups and start loving them. We need to have the mind of the one who let an adulteress go. We need to have the mind of the one who loved the sinner while hating the sin. Jesus Christ played no favorites, so why do we? Our job is to bring people to Christ. Not push them away. I do not want to be called a liar because I have said, shown or claimed that someone is not worthy of God’s love. Thereby, His grace and mercy follows. I have known many people with lifestyles that God hates, but I never hated the person. You will never find me being like that. I have chosen to love in action as well as word. Where do you stand?

Comments
  1. Freedom says:

    Hi Caed, although I agree passionately with the need to be Loving and tolerant of others I cannot water down God’s warning that people who practice Homosexuality are in grave error and danger. I believe in light of the Scriptures that God is not accepting of this type of behaviour the same as with all sin, but I do not in any way agree that He does not have compassion and Love for those who do wrong, God’s Truth is very clear about this but He longs for us to repent and turn from evil and do good and so accept the free gift of Salvation.

    In warning us that we will be punished for the wrong we do, God is in fact seeking to protect us in the same way the Law in our Country is, for example what would happen if we all chose our own agenda when it came to the traffic lights such as … you and I decided from now on red was go and green meant stop, we would be placing not only ourselves but others in danger and this would still be so even if we found some others who would agree with us. God’s Laws are not to deprive us or cause us pain and they are not based on intolerance as most people understand it. Yes God is indeed intolerant of wrong doing, the same as the Law of the Land is, but it is for our good not bad.

    Christian Love Anne.

    • caedsspot says:

      Thank you for visiting my blog.

      Don’t get me wrong. I believe the same thing that you do. I just don’t agree with some of the methods that are being used. At times this also means what they are saying. Letting others know there are consequences to what they do is important. It was not my intent to say that there are not consequences that need to be addressed. My intent was to show that we can be loving and kind but still get the message across.

      Again, thanks for visiting.

      • Freedom says:

        .Thank you caedsspot for your response and for joining up with us, I would just like to share that although I agree that mostly our approach needs to be Loving and kind sometimes Love has to be tough, we remember Jesus got the whip out and also had some up your nose comments directed to the Pharisees and Paul also said what he meant, no holding back but they were motivated by Love not disrespect or rudeness and they both had the confirmation of God The Father.

        I believe there is a time for everything but always honesty should govern our actions, I never comment on anyone’s Blog in the affirmative unless I agree with what they say, I’m not two faced, perhaps that also comes from being a Dinky di Aussie, we are very straight. I don’t delete comments or Block people or moderate after the first comment, these to me are extreme rudeness and shows disunity and lack of Trust which are not to be part of our relationship with each other in the Body of Christ, we are to Love our Brothers and Sisters in Christ Jesus. We have a special Blog that people can use if they want to debate or share in private but if they want to argue we don’t respond, if they won’t accept Scripture what’s the point.

        Thank you again caedsspot for your straight forward and honest sharing.

        Christian Love Anne – Ron sends his blessings

        • caedsspot says:

          Absolutely. I work for a Christian organization called Teen Challenge. We are a part of the tough love when the families don’t know where to turn for help. There are times when we need to be tough, out of love. I am actually planning on dealing with as I write more on Grace and Mercy.

          • Freedomborn says:

            Hi Caed, thank you for your message , it is good to ponder on God’s Word is Truth, so we are saying His Truth won’t return to Him void, today there is much confusion and division even in the Churches but God is a God of Unity not division and the Holy Spirit does not say one thing to one person and something differant to a another when they contradict.

            I lost my way but God rescued me even as I was on the point of suicide and He used the small seed of Love that was still left and brought me back to Him and even after being in the Church for many years before it was then that I came to True heart repentance, before that it was more head and emotion. When we are God’s redeemed Children who He has known from eternity in His Spirit and known in the flesh since we were conceived that we would come to heart repentance, be Born Again of God’s seed and be perfected in Love we don’t have to fear perishing we will be conformed into the image of Jesus and made Holy.

            1 John 3: 1- 11 (9) No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God.

            Hebrews 6:1 Therefore leaving the principles of the doctrine of Christ, let us go on unto perfection; not laying again the foundation of repentance from dead works, and of faith toward God,

            John 8:34-36 Jesus replied, “I tell you the truth, everyone who sins is a slave to sin. Now a slave has no permanent place in the family, but a son belongs to itforever. So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.

            Romans 8:1-4 There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.

            1 John 4:17-19 Herein is our Love made perfect, that we may have boldness in the day of judgment: because as He is, so are we in this world. There is no fear in Love; but perfect Love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in Love. We Love Him, because He first Loved us.

            Christian Love Anne.

            • Freedomborn says:

              Sorry Ceda it seems I’m in need of time out, do you have a room for this with your young ones.

              I will repost in the right place, I am indeed a cracked vessel just as well God is the Super Glue.

              Today I have know exteem Joy and sadness that I have hurt you, please forgive me.

              Christian Love Anne.

              • caedsspot says:

                I forgive you Anne. I understand that you have been stressed recently. I have not taken anything to heart. I will keep praying for you and yours.

                With the love of Christ,
                Rick

Leave a Reply

