I Just Don’t Get It

Posted: 01/31/2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

What makes some things offensive and some things okay? Take a look at this picture. To me as a Christian, I like the message of the picture.

 But I also think that it is funny. Don’t get me wrong, I take my faith seriously. But to others this picture is just plain offensive. What I think is funny is that to what some would consider to be truth, others would consider to be hate or being narrow minded. An “artist” is able to put a crucifix in a jar of urine and take a picture of it call it art. To me this is offensive. But not to the world. That picture showing what somebody thinks about Jesus Christ is okay, but this little cartoon is not. I just don’t get it. 

Why is it that those who consider themselves Christians or Christ followers always wrong. The “world” seems to think that we really have nothing or should have nothing to say. Where is the freedom of speech in that?

We can’t be bold and stand up for what we feel is right. We can’t post anything that allows us to show how we feel about things. But then everyone is. Like I said I just don’t get it.

Many of the things that a lot of people believe in, we do as well. A lot of things that many of the organizations believe in, we do as well. We can talk about those things that we all have a common interest in, but if it is about our faith, we need to go to church. I just don’t get it.

We can talk about Buddha, but we can’t talk about Jesus Christ. We can talk about Allah, but we can’t talk about Jesus Christ. We can talk about this religion or that religion, but we can’t talk about our faith in Jesus Christ. Or to go another way with this, we can talk about Jesus Christ as long as we are joking about him. Or using Him as curse word or in ways that would and should be offensive to many Christians. But even if we do see it as offensive we are not allowed to say anything. Why? We are infringing on another persons right to free speech. I just don’t get it.

The thing is, there are times when a Christian or Christ follower should be quiet. As this saying goes “A Christian should preach wherever he/she goes, speak when necessary”. A Christian music group from the ’80s even had song about “A Christian should be seen and not heard”. The song was basically about how the world would like to see Christians or Christ followers. We should be like little kids and be seen, but not heard. Why am I not allowed to say what I believe? Why am I not allowed to give my views? Why am I not allowed to take offense at anything that I would consider offensive? I just don’t get it.

Please comment on some things that you just don’t get. Be sure to share this as well. Thanks.

 

Comments
  1. Freedomborn says:

    Hi Caed …I get it, but sad that it is that way, God tells us itching ears only want what to hear what fits in with their fleshy agenda.

    What do we do….. while we still can, we share God’s Truth, His Word will not return to Him void, good seed planted will bear good fruit, God knows His Children if their searching for Him they will hear your words in their heart.

    The Cartoon is True… Abortion is a Abomination to God

    Christian Love Anne.

  2. Naphtali says:

    I don’t get it either. We have to keep trying though a blogging is a great way to spread the word. Great post.

Leave a Reply

